Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Institute of Soil Mechanics and Rock Mechanics (IBF)

Engler-Bunte-Ring 14

D-76131 Karlsruhe

Tel.: +49 721 608-42221

Fax: +49 721 69 60 96

E-Mail: info∂ibf kit edu

Large-Scale Triaxial Tests


  Drilling equipment for large-scale specimens

The drilling machine has a diesel hydraulic drive. The the core drill bit is dimensioned for specimens of 600 mm in diameter and 1200 mm in length. The flushing medium is compressed air, sometimes a dusty business...




Triaxial cell for large-scale specimens

Max. specimen diameter: 1000 mm
Max. specimen length: 1900 mm
Max. axial load: 6000 kN
Max. confinement pressure: 2.2 MPa (= 320 psi)

The confinement pressure medium is water. Testing of weak material and bulk solids is also possible with special technical equipment.




  Preparation for the test

Installation of the displacement transducers on a waterproof covered specimen with approx. 600 mm in diameter and 1000 mm in length.



"True" large-scale triaxial tests

Although the term "triaxial test" is well-established on testing cylindrical shaped specimens, the above mentioned testing technique is no "true" triaxial testing because the two smaller principal stress components are equal.

Therefore, the term "polyaxial test" has been chosen to describe a testing technique in which the values of the three principal stresses differ from one another. Such tests are only realisable with cubic shaped specimens. In doing so, a load frame with flat hydraulic jacks on two opposing sides generates the intermediate principal stress whereas the minor principal stress is generated by the confinement pressure. The axial load cylinder applies the maximum principal stress.



  Extraction of a cubic large-scale specimen

with a combinded drilling and sawing method.

Cross sectional area: 620 x 620 mm
Length: 1200 mm




  Installation of the cubic specimen in the triaxial load frame

This load frame is installed in the triaxial cell (on the left in the background). The flat hydraulic jacks on both sides of the red rubber jacket which encloses the specimen generate the intermediate principal stress.




  Cubic specimen after the test

The failure causing shear fracture is obviously.

Accompanying Material Analyses

In addition to the material strength tests, we also perform miscellaneous material analyses. We pass some of it to the Institute of Mineralogy and Geochemistry of the University of Karlsruhe. Among other things, the scope is:

  • Determination of the rock density with hydrometic weighting
  • Determination of the water content of rock
  • Water content at the yield point and the plasticity limit according to Atterberg
  • Ignition loss according to DIN 18128
  • Lime content according to DIN 18129
  • X-ray diffractometric determination of the quartz content
  • X-ray diffractometric determination of the mineral composition
  • X-ray diffraction diagram
  • Microscopic slide analyses
  • Chemical analyses
  • Grain density according to DIN 18124
  • Combined screening and sedimentation
  • Desiccation/moistening tests
  • Determination of the material alteration by the effect of water

Index Tests


  Splitting tension test (Brazilian test)

This test is used for the indirect determination of the tensile strength of rock.If a circular cylindric specimen is compressed along its diameter, failure occurs by an extension fracture in the loaded diametral plane (see image) at some value of the applied load. With this load and the dimensions of the specimen the uniaxial tensile strength can be estimated.

  Point load test

This test is practical for an estimating classification of rock and provides an index for the order of magnitude of the uniaxial compression strength. The point load test is primarily used in the field because of the usability of irregular pieces of rock and the transportable test equipment. The rock specimen ist loaded between two hardened steel cones of predetermined geometry with a hydraulic hand pump. However, useful results are only provided with lagely brittle and isotropic rock material.
     Slake durability test

Many sorts of rock show noticeable signs of disintegration after cyclic drying and wetting. This test provides an index value for the resistance to such alterations. In a predetermined cyclic procedure, broken rock is alternately dried and sieved in a screening drum by the effect of water.

Testing of the Swelling Behaviour

Swelling of materials which are relevant in civil and underground engineering are counted among the most alarming phenomena in geotechnics. The volume increasing of clay by absorption of water is a physical effect (osmosis), whereas the volume increasing during the hydration of anhydrite into gypsum is a chemical effect. Nevertheless, the consequences for the constructions are always the same: destructive stresses, deformations and loss of strength, often occurring and recognised months or even years later.

Common characteristics of both effects are the stress-dependent behaviour, the distinct anisotropy and the long time lapse. A swelling test requires months, even years in hydration of anhydrite. Theoretical, the maximum volume increasing of clay is less then 20%, whereas it's 64% at the anhydrite-gypsum transformation.

 


  Standard swelling pressure test

Number of load frames: 35

Specimen diameter: 60 to 100 mm
Specimen length: 20 to 40 mm
Max. axial load: 50 kN
Testing temperature: 20°C (= 68°F), constant

This test is used for the determination of the swell-caused stress/strain dependency in axial orientation (usually perpendicular to the bedding). The specimen is fitted in a stiff metal ring in order to prevent radial strain.

  Free-swell test

Number of load frames: 14

Specimen edge length: 30 to 150 mm, cubically
Testing temperature: 20°C (= 68°F), constant

This index test is suitable for a comparatively quick (normally 1 or 2 weeks) estimation of the swelling potential and the associated swelling anisotropy factor of rocks.

Tests at high Temperatures


  Compression test system with environmental cabinet

Platen diameter: 310 mm
Max. span: 360 mm
Max. load: 550 kN
Control range of displacement: 0.001 to 500 mm/min
Max. testing temperature: 400°C (= 752°F)

 

Testing of time-dependent Material Properties

 


  Uniaxial creep tests in a environmental chamber

Number of load frames: 32

Max. specimen diameter: 130 mm
Max. specimen length: 260 mm
Max. load: 200 kN
Testing temperature: 20°C (= 68°F), constant

 


  Triaxial creep tests in a environmental cabinet

Number of triaxial cells: 2

Specimen diameter: 70 mm
Specimen length: 140 mm
Max. axial load: 200 kN
Max. confinement pressure: 16 MPa (= 2320 psi)
Max. deviatoric stress (worst case): 37 MPa
Max. testing temperature: 60°C (= 140°F)

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Institut für Bodenmechanik und Felsmechanik

Engler-Bunte-Ring 14

76131 Karlsruhe

Tel.: +49 721 608-42221

Fax: +49 721 608-43274

E-Mail: infoJch4∂ibf kit edu

Triaxialversuche an Großproben


  Großproben-Bohrgerät im Einsatz

Das Gerät hat einen dieselhydraulischen Antrieb. Die Bohrkrone ist für Prüfkörper von 600 mm Durchmesser und 1200 mm Länge dimensioniert. Gespült wird mit Druckluft, oft eine staubige Angelegenheit...




  Triaxialzelle für Großproben

Max. Prüfkörperdurchmesser: 1000 mm
Max. Prüfkörperlänge: 1900 mm
Max. Axialkraft: 6000 kN
Max. Manteldruck: 2,2 MPa (= 22 bar)

Das Druckmedium für den Manteldruck ist Wasser. Spezielle techchnische Einrichtungen ermöglichen auch die Prüfung von Lockermaterial und Schüttgut.




  Vorbereitung des Versuchs

Installation der Probenwegaufnehmer an einem wasserdicht eingehüllten Prüfkörper von ca. 600 mm Durchmesser und 1000 mm Länge.



"Echte" Triaxialversuche

Obwohl sich der Begriff "Triaxialversuch" bei der Prüfung zylindrischer Proben allgemein durchgesetzt hat, handelt es sich bei dieser Versuchstechnik nicht um einen "echten" Triaxialversuch, da die beiden kleineren Hauptspannungen identisch sind. Deshalb ist auch der weniger missverständliche Ausdruck "Manteldruckversuch" gebräuchlich.

Beim "echten" Triaxialversuch sind alle drei Hauptspannungen unterschiedlich. Diese Versuche lassen sich nur an kubischen Prüfkörpern durchführen. Dabei wird ein Reaktionsrahmen verwendet, mit dem über hydraulische Druckkissen die mittlere Hauptspannung erzeugt wird. Die größte der drei Hauptspannungen wird vom Axialkraft-Zylinder der Triaxialzelle erzeugt, die kleinste durch den Manteldruck.



  Gewinnung eines kubischen Prüfkörpers

mit kombinierter Bohr- und Sägetechnik.

Querschnittsfläche: 620 x 620 mm
Länge: 1200 mm




  Einbau des Prüfkörpers in den Triaxial-Reaktionsrahmen

Dieser Reaktionsrahmen wird in die Groß-Triaxialzelle (links im Hintergrund) eingebaut. An den beiden Seiten des vom roten Gummi-Schutzmantel umhüllten Prüfkörpers sind die hydraulischen Druckkissen zu erkennen, die die mittlere der drei Hauptspannungen erzeugen.




  Prüfkörper nach dem Versuch

Der zum Versagen führende Scherbruch ist deutlich sichtbar.

Begleitende Materialanalysen

Ergänzend zu den festigkeitsmechanischen Prüfungen führen wir auch diverse Materialanalysen durch. Einige mineralogische Untersuchungen werden von uns im Unterauftrag an das Institut für Mineralogie und Geochemie des KIT vergeben. Das Programm umfasst unter anderem:

  • Bestimmung der Dichte durch Tauchwägung
  • Bestimmung des Wassergehaltes
  • Wassergehalte an der Fließ- und Ausrollgrenze nach Atterberg
  • Glühverlust nach DIN 18128
  • Kalkgehalt nach DIN 18129
  • Röntgenographische Bestimmung des Quarzgehaltes
  • Röntgenographische Bestimmung der Mineralzusammensetzung
  • Röntgendiffraktogramm
  • Dünnschliffanalyse
  • Chemische Analysen
  • Korndichte nach DIN 18124
  • Kombinierte Siebung und Sedimentation
  • Austrocknungs-/Befeuchtungsversuche
  • Bestimmung der Veränderlichkeit bei Wasserlagerung

Indexversuche


  Spaltzugversuch (Brazilian-Test)

Dieser Versuch ermöglicht die indirekte Bestimmung der Zugfestigkeit von Gesteinen. Bei Belastung eines scheibenförmigen Prüfkörpers entlang zweier einander gegenüber liegender streifenförmiger Flächen auf der Mantelfläche kommt es zu einem von der Prüfkörpermitte ausgehenden, diametral verlaufenden Riss (siehe Bild). Aus der hierfür erforderlichen Kraft und der Prüfkörpergeometrie kann die Zugfeststigkeit nach der Elastizitätstheorie näherungsweise berechnet werden.

 


  Punktlastversuch

Dieser Versuch eignet sich zur überschlägigen Klassifizierung von Gesteinen und liefert einen Index für die Größenordnung der einaxialen Druckfestigkeit. Er wird hauptsächlich im Gelände durchgeführt, weil neben Bohrkernen auch Gesteinshandstücke verwendet werden können und die Versuchsapparatur transportabel ist. Der Prüfkörper wird zwischen zwei gehärtete Spitzen vorgegebener Geometrie eingespannt und mit einer hydraulischen Handpumpe belastet. Brauchbare Ergebnisse erhält man jedoch nur für sprödere und weitgehend isotrope Gesteine.
     Siebtrommelversuch

Bei Austrocknung und Wiederbefeuchtung zeigen viele Gesteine deutliche Zerfallserscheinungen. Mit diesem Versuch, der auch unter dem Namen "Slake-Durability-Test" bekannt ist, kann ein Indexwert für die Beständigkeit gegen Zerfall ermittelt werden. Dabei wird das Probenmaterial nach einer festgelegten Verfahrensweise mehrmals wechselweise getrocknet und in einer Siebtrommel unter Einwirkung von Wasser gesiebt.

Versuche zum Quell- und Schwellverhalten

Quell- und Schwellvorgänge in bautechnisch relevanten Gesteinen zählen zu den gefürchteten Phänomenen der Geotechnik. Die Volumenvermehrung von Tonstein infolge von Wasseraufnahme wird als Quellen bezeichnet. Dagegen versteht man unter Schwellen die Umwandlung von Anhydrit in Gips. Ersteres ist ein physikalischer Prozess (Osmose), Letzteres dagegen ein chemischer. Die Auswirkungen auf Bauwerke im Fels, die sich oft erst nach Monaten oder Jahren bemerkbar machen, sind trotzdem ähnlich: Unverträgliche Drücke, Deformationen und Entfestigungen.

Gemeinsame Eigenschaften beider Prozesse sind das druckabhängige Verhalten, die stark ausgeprägte Anisotropie und der lange Zeitablauf. Quellversuche dauern in der Regel Monate, Schwellversuche nehmen dagegen meist Jahre in Anspruch. Die theoretisch maximal mögliche Volumenzunahme durch Schwellen beträgt 64 %, die durch Quellen normalerweise weniger als 20 %.

 


  Standard-Quelldruckversuch

Anzahl der Belastungsrahmen: 35

Prüfkörperdurchmesser: 60 bis 100 mm
Prüfkörperlänge: 20 bis 40 mm
Max. Axialkraft: 50 kN
Prüftemperatur: Konstant 20 °C

Dieser Versuch dient zur Ermittlung der quell- oder schwellbedingten Spannungs-Dehnungsabhängigkeit in axialer Richtung (üblicherweise senkrecht zur Schichtung). Der Einbau der Probe in einem steifen Metallring bewirkt eine nahezu vollständige Behinderung der Verformung in radialer Richtung.

  Freiquellversuch

Anzahl der Versuchsapparaturen: 14

Prüfkörper-Kantenlänge: Würfelig, 30 bis 150 mm
Prüftemperatur: Konstant 20 °C

Dieser Indexversuch eignet sich gut zur relativ schnellen (normalerweise 1 bis 2 Wochen) Abschätzung des Quellpotenzials und des zugehörigen Quell-Anisotropiefaktors eines Gesteins.

Versuche bei höheren Temperaturen


  Einaxial-Druckprüfmaschine mit Heizkammer

Druckplattendurchmesser: 310 mm
Max. Spannweite: 360 mm
Max. Prüfkraft: 550 kN
Regelbereich Weg: 0,001 bis 500 mm/min
Max. Prüftemperatur: 400 °C

 

Versuche zum zeitabhängigen Materialverhalten

 


  Einaxial-Kriechversuchsstände im klimatisierten Raum

Anzahl der Belastungsrahmen: 32

Max. Prüfkörperdurchmesser: 130 mm
Max. Prüfkörperlänge: 260 mm
Max. Prüfkraft: 200 kN
Prüftemperatur: Konstant 20 °C



  Triaxial-Kriechversuchsstand mit Wärmeschrank

Anzahl der Triaxialzellen: 2

Prüfkörperdurchmesser: 70 mm
Prüfkörperlänge: 140 mm
Max. Axialkraft: 200 kN
Max. Manteldruck: 16 MPa (= 160 bar)
Max. dev. Spannung (ungünstigster Fall): 37 MPa
Max. Prüftemperatur: 60 °C